Digital Accessibility Legislation

International Legislation

AllAccessible follows Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) success criteria which is the standard accepted by major international web accessibility legislation.

The table below provides a list of the international legislation as identified by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).

Accessibility Laws in the United States
United States
  • Section 508 of the US Rehabilitation Act of 1973
  • Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)
  • Section 255 of the Telecommunications Act of 1996
  • Air Carrier Access Act of 1986
  • 21st Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act of 2010 (CVAA)
Accessibility Laws in China
  • Law on the Protection of Persons with Disabilities 1990
  • Voluntary Web Accessibility Standard
Accessibility Laws in Finland
  • Act on Electronic Services and Communication in the Public Sector
Accessibility Laws in Hong Kong
Hong Kong
  • Guidelines on Dissemination of Information through Government Websites
Accessibility Laws in Israel
  • Equal Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act
Accessibility Laws in the Netherlands
  • Procurement Law 2012
  • Policy in the Netherlands
Accessibility Laws in South Korea
South Korea
  • Act on Welfare of Persons with Disabilities
Accessibility Laws in Switzerland
  • Federal Law on the Elimination of Inequalities for Persons with Disabilities, as amended
Accessibility Laws in Australian
  • Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (DDA)
  • Procurement Standard Guidance
Accessibility Laws in Denmark
  • Agreement on the use of open standards for software in the public sector
Accessibility Laws in France
  • Law N° 2005-102 Article 47
  • Order of 29 April 2015 on the general accessibility framework for public administrations
  • Law N° 2016-1321 Article 106
Accessibility Laws in India
  • Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 (RPD)
  • Guidelines for Indian Government Websites
Accessibility Laws in Italy
  • Law 9 January 2004, n. 4 “Provisions to support the access of disabled people to IT tools” (Stanca Law)
Accessibility Laws in New Zealand
New Zealand
  • Human Rights Act 1993, including amendments
  • Online Practice Guidelines
Accessibility Laws in Sweden
  • Discrimination Act (2008:567
Accessibility Laws in Taiwan
  • Web Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Accessibility Laws in Canadian
  • Canadian Human Rights Act
  • Policy on Communications and Federal Identity
Accessibility Laws in the European Union
European Union
  • Web and Mobile Accessibility Directive
  • European Accessibility Act
Accessibility Laws in Germany
  • Act on Equal Opportunities for Disabled Persons of 2002
  • Federal Ordinance on Barrier-Free Information Technology
Accessibility Laws in Ireland
  • The Disability Act, 2005
  • Equal Status Acts 2000 to 2004
  • Employment Equality Acts 1998 and 2004
Accessibility Laws in Japan
  • Basic Act on the Formation of an Advanced Information and Telecommunications Network Society
Accessibility Laws in Norway
  • Regulations on universal design of ICT
Accessibility Laws in Norway
  • Regulations on universal design of ICT
Accessibility Laws in the United Kingdom Flag
United Kingdom
  • Equality Act 2010

Run a Free Accessibility Scan

Be sure to include http:// or https://
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.